Dear Mama

Mama’s Pizza

10531 107 Avenue Nw, Edmonton

I often romanticize the idea of a young couple falling in love and building a future together. Hand in hand, together against the world, they push forward taking on life’s challenges. This exciting life journey usually begins with the renting of the first apartment where the seed of the young couple’s special bond is planted. One of the most poignant aspects to this fantasy is the first dinner in the new apartment, which I always imagined to be a candle-lit, take-out meal on hardwood floor surrounded by boxes from the recent move. Just a beautiful thing. Recently this fantasy became a reality for me, as I moved into a new apartment with a loved one. And as is usually true, reality is never as sweet as a dream.

Phil and I moved into a cozy one-bedroom apartment on 109 ave, near 109 street. The building had been uninhabited for many years, so we had to get power re-connected. Due to confusion from both EPCOR and my landlord (not me), we were without power for 3 days. No biggie; we stepped with the 2by4 (is this even a saying, I’ve been using it for years……think it’s supposed to be like ‘roll with the punches’). The walls in the building are paper thin, and we could hear our neighbours crystal clear, forcing Phil to share a bed with me at nights. It is also freezing.

Despite all this, Phil and I decided to celebrate or new life together by picking up a pizza. We called up our new neighbour/old friend Jon, and moseyed on over to Mama’s Pizza on 107th Ave. I had eaten at Mama’s before, but was too distracted by the awe-inspiring mural art to take note of the pizza.

True to my fantasy, we sat on the floor of the apartment surrounded by boxes and ate our pizza. We snaked a single light that was plugged in to a hallway outlet and listened to Jim Reeves on Jon’s portable turntable.

Mama’s pizza is good. The joint doubles as a Vietnamese Noodle house, but we ordered a large Bacon and tomato pizza regardless. Crust was near perfect (a bit greasy, but good greasy), and bacon was near-disgusting. Somehow these things balanced each other out, making for a decent pie. Despite its decent taste, Mama’s will likely be remembered more for its wild mural art than it’s pizza: a sloppy, seemingly unfinished Edmonton Oilers mural, a similarly sloppy Eskies mural, and an extremely elaborate and far-from-sloppy painting of London’s Tower Bridge. Just wild.


The more that I think of it, that night wasn’t the fantasy-crusher that I made it out to be. It was a blast making jokes with Jon and Phil, and the pizza was good. There was just something that seemed missing from my romanticization……Probably the romance.

Update: phil has since left me for both a cheaper apartment and a cheaper room-mate. but hey, I ain’t mad at cha

Published in: on December 22, 2009 at 9:15 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sliceoflifeedmonton.wordpress.com/2009/12/22/dear-mama/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. You are a funny man, Chris.

    Also, I make a pizza I call Mama’s pizza. coincidence?


Leave a Reply

